Many clients ask me how the Discernment Counseling process originated. In the video below, Dr. Bill Doherty discusses how a family court judge approached him with an interesting observation: some of the divorcing couples the judge worked with were approaching the divorce process with such high levels of cooperation that he wondered if their marriages were still, in fact, salvageable.

This led to research and then the creation of the Couples on the Brink Project at the University of Minnesota. The project trained therapists and collaborative lawyers to help couples on the brink of divorce who want to take a second look at their options for their marriage. I have been using the Discernment Counseling model for the past several years in my practice.

Here in this video, Dr. Doherty discusses the rationale behind Discernment Counseling:

I work with couples and individual adults in my psychotherapy and coaching practice. My clients make progress! I offer email support in-between sessions to my clients as part of our work together. Find Your Strengths at http://www.kelleyhopkinsalvarez.com. Let’s continue the “conversation”, text 203-948-0938 or email me @ kelleytherapy@icloud.com.

Thank you so much for reading my blog!

Kelley Hopkins-Alvarez, Licensed Professional Counselor, MS, MSEd, NCC, BCC
Address: 100B Danbury Road, Suite 201D, Ridgefield, CT 06877 (behind Union Savings Bank)

