“Rock bottom became the solid foundation on which I rebuilt my life”, this statement resonated with me as I listened to famed author, J.K. Rowling’s commencement speech at Harvard. I have put the link below to this speech, so you can listen to this incredibly successful person discuss how seven years after graduating from college she was divorced, a single parent, and destitute!

What are the benefits of failure? “It’s a stripping away of the inessential”, says Rowling.

The second theme in this video is the value of imagination, as per Rowling, “to envision that which is not”. She goes on to discuss her work in her early twenties with Amnesty International, where she would read the handwritten letters of people living in totalitarian regimes who risked their life sharing the horrors that they and/or others have endured. She was speaking to the graduates and said, “Those who chose not to empathize create real monsters”. She was urging the students to use their privilege to help others that they may never meet.

I work with couples and individual adults in my Psychotherapy and Life Coaching Practice. My clients make progress! Find Your Strengths at kelleyhopkinsalvarez.com. Let’s continue the “conversation”, text me 203-948-0938 or email me @ kelleytherapy@icloud.com to discuss your challenges.
Thank you so much for reading my blog!

Kelley Hopkins-Alvarez, Licensed Professional Counselor, MS, MSEd, NCC, BCC
Address: 100B Danbury Road, Suite #201D (2nd floor) Ridgefield, CT 06877 (building B is behind Union Savings Bank)

 

