Most of my clients submit my receipts to their insurance company for reimbursement if they have out-of-network coverage. Email me and I can send you the insurance codes so you can contact your insurance company to compare what you would get back working with me vs another provider. It’s wonderful when clients can access their health insurance when they need it!

Many therapists like me are out-of-network providers, which means that clients pay their therapist directly, and then clients send the receipt to their insurance company for consideration for reimbursement directly back to the client. Personally, I wish insurance companies valued the therapy process as a primary form of treatment but currently insurance providers are more open to covering psychopharmacological treatments than psychotherapy. Medication can, at times be extremely important for some clients, but only in addition to psychotherapy, not as a standalone treatment.

I take the time to explain to clients what a behavioral health (formerly known as mental health) diagnosis is and how it could possibly affect them. Using your insurance for your psychotherapy session requires a diagnosis, paying privately does not.

In order for any provider to provide you with a receipt that you can submit to your insurance company, it is required that you are provided with a diagnosis for the concern that you came in with, as well as a treatment. When clients pay privately, nothing is reported to an insurance company. My clients may be experiencing struggles in their lives currently, but essentially they are healthy individuals who are experiencing some life challenges in varying degrees

I work with couples and individual adults in my psychotherapy and coaching practice. My clients make progress! Find Your Strengths at http://www.kelleyhopkinsalvarez.com. If you are curious about whether therapy could be useful in managing life and relationships better, text 203-948-0938 or email me @ kelleytherapy@icloud.com to discuss your challenges.

Thank you so much for reading my blog!

Kelley Hopkins-Alvarez, Licensed Professional Counselor, NCC, BCC
Address: 100B Danbury Road, Suite 201D, Ridgefield, CT 06877 (behind Union Savings Bank)

